Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need help understanding Dunham system

Fisher
Fisher Member Posts: 30
I have learned so much from this thread, and I feel tremendous gratitude to "the Wall" community and to Dan for his work. I will continue to post questions and updates.

Please post some pics of your Vari-Vac system - I would like to see it. What vintage is it?

BTW - I am about to order some trap repair kits. The vaporstat is in - I plan to install it, and a new pressure gauge tomorrow.

Comments

• Fisher
    I need help.....

I am a mechanical contractor, working on a residential steam system (a rarity down here in the South). It is a Dunham 2-pipe gravity system with thermostatic traps, and almost perfectly matches fig 907e in the Dunham Handbook No. 914. c. 1935

I have read "The Lost Art of Steam Heating" cover to cover and I am gaining an understanding of this system. I am also gaining a huge respect for the "dead guys" who installed and serviced this system.

My question:
    There is a connection with a swing check between the end of steam main and the end of the dry return. On my installation, the check valve has a Dunham no. 106 Surge Chamber on the steam side of the check valve and a Dunham no. 107 surge chamber on the return side. This connection apparently provides a path to equalize vacuum when the system cools. Do I have this right? On my system, this path is valved off.

Can anyone explain this, and what is the impact of having it valved off?
  • gerry gill
    gerry gill Member Posts: 3,078
    you got it..