Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New distributor

Options
Jerry_15
Jerry_15 Member Posts: 379
Start out with a 800 answering service (way cheap: real people picking up the phone immediately and typing the message directly to your pager.) Voice mail sucks; Press 1, press 2, return to menu. Never give out your cell #. That's why you have a 24/7 answering service, on an 800#
Do not depend on the switchboard at the company; it is never their fault. Establish an operating budget, in addition to your salary and commish. I've never done this before, but I've read about it in books. Good luck.

Comments

• Dave Larsen_2
    Dave Larsen_2 Member Posts: 53
    Options
    new distributor

Here's one to get everybody going! I've given up contracting radiant heating systems after 26 yrs,now I'm working for a distributor. If you were me, whats the first thing you would try to improve in the distribution world??
  • Guy_6
    Guy_6 Member Posts: 450
    Options
    train

What I picked up at HTP was the idea of training. I find it to be the ideal sales tool, as well as being beneficial to the contractors. Chuck and I used to joke about it as being a means to making our job easier- the more we could educate, the less our phones would ring, therefore the less we would have to do. That was not actually the case, as it led to the calls becoming more challenging-we only lost the simple ones. Another benefit is that you may get the questions BEFORE an incorrect installation move is made.
    Also, try to form an alliance with the MFG. reps. They will be happy to help you, as it benefits all around. You don't need to know everything, as long as you know those who do.