Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

oil tank plumbing

i am new to the oil heating/plumbing world. so here is my question: supply line plumbed into tank from top or through bottom. witch keeps both tank free from sludge and supplies the cleanest fuel to burner? would love to read your posts.

Comments

• kevin coppinger_4
    kevin coppinger_4 Member Posts: 2,124
    bottom...

pitched to the outlet, w/ a very good filter....kpc

To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"
  • Big Ed_3
    Big Ed_3 Member Posts: 170
    Sludge free...

Take supply from bottom of tank Pitch tank down to supply tap. Install a general type filter at tank. at burner and install a hi micron filter near the burner.....To keep a tank free of sludge is to keep it free of water. Top feed tanks are a band aid . It just buys time Water and dirt will collect below the lines since the lines will not be the lowest point of exit . Most sit inches from the bottom. In years you will have inches of sludge. Sludge is produced when water sits below oil. A bug lives in the world between the two . It feasts on the oil and craps out the sludge. The sulfur in the oil , the bug can not digest . The bug poops out surpheric acids do do's. You do not want acid do-do's in the bottom of your steel oil tank, .