Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler Supply

STEVEN MARKS
STEVEN MARKS Member Posts: 154
Each zone must have its own check when using pumps.

Comments

• Tony G
    Tony G Member Posts: 21

Hello,

I just added 2 new zones to my house using circulators. What I noticed is that when the downstairs zone is running suppling heat the upstairs radiators are also hot. How do I stop the upstairs from getting heat when the downstairs is suppose to get heat?
  • Ron Schroeder_3
    Ron Schroeder_3 Member Posts: 254
    ghost flow?

Could you include a brief sketch of your boiler room layout? Before and after would be best. Ideally a few photos would help even more. Cheers.
  • Tony G
    New at this

Hi Fred,

I'm kinda new at this so it will be difficult. But, what I have are circulators on the return pushing water through the boiler. On the supply I have expansion tank, check valve, than I break out three zones. Each zone has shut off then they go to different parts of the house. Each zone has their own ciculator. I built a manifold out of 1 1/4 tes's and pipe. Oh, I have installed a taco 504 relay box.
  • Ghost flow

Frank,

Your method of piping the boiler is not the best but working with what you have, described:

If I understand you correctly, you flow through a single flow check, and then split to the three zones. You did not describe if the three zones are individually controlled by zone valves or flow checks at that point.

If there are no zone valves, and there is only one flow check valve before the three zones split, that is your problem.

Each zone needs its own individual flow check or a zone valve to close off the flow of that respective zone, so as to prevent ghost flow when the other zone(s) are calling for heat.

As stated by others, a few (well lit & good quality) photos would be helpful).

Regards,