Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

\"How much longer will this take?\"

Options
Ken C.
Ken C. Member Posts: 267
As a plumbing and heating technician, I hate being asked by customers, "How long do you think this will take?" I always hesitate to give a firm answer, because especially on old plumbing or heating systems, unforeseen problems can easily pop up.

A master plumber I used to work with gave me this advice: If he had to shut the water down in a large apartment building, and tenants asked "When will the water be back on?" he would give a non-committal answer like, "I will have it on as fast as I can."

I admit I feel pressured when homeowners ask this question, as I'm still fairly new to the trade, so I'm curious how others who are more experienced handle it.

Comments

• Big Ed
    Big Ed Member Posts: 1,117
    Options
    Time

If you think it will take 4 hours tell them 8... If you finish in 6 they will be happy. If you told them 5 , they will be back down at 5:30
  • jim lockard
    jim lockard Member Posts: 1,059
    Options
    I do not know

We are doing the best we can, It may be awhile.
  • oil-2-4-6-gas
    oil-2-4-6-gas Member Posts: 641
    Options

will you people stop bothering me so i can finish my job ---usually in apartment houses i close the door to the boiler room and always give them a finish time at least double of your estimated time and i always say thats if everything goes right--unless they have flushometers and i needed to shut the building cold water --then i tell them maybe tommorrow evening
  • Mark Eatherton1
    Mark Eatherton1 Member Posts: 2,542
    Options
    Done Yet???