Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Triangle Tube Prestige heat exchanger corrosion

dleihs
dleihs Member Posts: 11
Hi all. I'll try to keep this brief but I sure could use some advice. I am by no means a professional.

I've got a Triangle Tube Prestige boiler. It's a 110 I believe. It's now about 12 years old. It is used for domestic hot water, baseboard heat, and in-floor radiant heat. There's lots of pex involved in the system.

It's got a sort of horn sound for 10-15 seconds when it fires up. I figured it was something easy based on what I've read here and in other forums, but the plumber showed me evidence of rust in the condensate, and says the heat exchanger is almost surely corroded. A few months ago, this same company had to replace the blower, which they say is really rare and evidence that the exchanger is corroded--the blower is having to work too hard. (Incidentally, if you pull the front panel off the boiler, the horn noise stops.)

To prove that the heat exchanger is corroded, you'd have to pull it out, from what I gather, and that's a major undertaking. So they're already talking about replacing it, and doing much else too that's all adding up to a ton of money no matter which option I go with.

He says the pex we have largely does not have oxygen barriers in it. (You can see a lot of the pex when you're in the crawlspace.) He says oxygen is getting into the system that way, and that the iron Grundfos pumps are also contributing to the issue. So he's recommending stainless steel circulators and a stainless steel expansion tank--an "O2 conversion," they called it. That's essentially getting all the ferrous stuff out completely, since replacing the pex would be a nightmare.