Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Beckett not receiving oil.

WhirlingD
WhirlingD Member Posts: 70
edited November 2022 in Oil Heating
Hi all…

Complete novice here…

I spent a few weeks researching how to tuneup my Beckett burner system, only to have it go awry the first time I tried it.

I started with the oil filter assembly, which is an F80 housing, and that seem to go easily enough…

However, there are two shut off valves on each side, and one of them didn’t seem to be moving as I was rotating this strange cap on the top. I couldn’t tell whether the post was even moving, despite using vice grips to turn the thing to try to turn it off, and then back on.

After I got the filter in there and everything tightened back up, I tried to fire up the boiler just to see what would happen, and it spit and sputtered and went into safety shut off. Clearly, it wasn’t getting oil.

First step was to take the filter off and open up the line coming from the tank, and as I suspected, oil is coming from the tank into the filter cartridge. No problem there.

Then I tried to bleed it from the boiler spigot, and there is no oil coming out of the spigot.

I thought the culprit may have been the shut off valve coming out of the cartridge, which just doesn’t seem to be operational, and I may have closed the thing when I first started the project, so I could try to bleed it from the bleed port on the top of the cartridge housing, and maybe it is stuck in the closed position?

My next step will be to take the actual filter out and just try to run the thing for a few moments to see if any oil gets to the boiler with no filter in there, just in case the problem is with the filter somehow.