Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

electric boilers?

mattyc
mattyc Member Posts: 44
Does anyone have any experience or feedback on installing all electric boilers? I have a customer who is insistent on installing solar panels on the house and then running an electric boiler for heat/hot water with a high efficiency gas boiler backup. In New york where I am, electric boilers are extremely rare to find. At this point, I would need to make sure that the customer gets the solar panels installed FIRST, since that would be a completely different company doing that part.
After looking at some manuals of some brands, it would seam that I would need one 85k btu unit or two smaller units to heat this house (that wouldn't even be able to heat an indirect storage tank) which looks like I need about 150 Amps! I am not an electrician but I would imagine that would need its own brand new electric panel. It seems like it would use a ton of electricity and who knows if the solar panels would even produce that much?
If anyone has an experience in this area please let me know.
For myself, I recommended just doing the high efficiency gas boiler with indirect and call it a day. I recommended if he really wanted solar, to get a solar water heater. Its not so much that I fear the unknown, but I cannot stand behind installing a system that may not meet the customers expectations, and there are too many unknown variables for myself.
Thanks!

Comments

• WMno57
    WMno57 Member Posts: 1,249
    Sell them a Heat Pump Water Heater for domestic hot water, and a high eff gas boiler(just for backup of course, Ha Ha). What kind of AC do they currently have? How old is it. You may also be able to sell them a Heat Pump, which may handle the heating load in the shoulder seasons.