Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Replacing Oil Boiler with Indoor Wood Boiler

OakLumber
OakLumber Member Posts: 18

Ok, I’ve read through a lot of discussions here, and still have a few questions about retrofitting an existing oil boiler with a new wood boiler. I apologize if some of my questions are duplicate, but I’m not a boiler expert. Anyway, some basic points and info:

1. 4500 sq foot home in Maine
2. In-floor heating throughout home.
3. Existing boiler is a Buderus, and the boiler and all controls are located in a mechanical room. Other than paying $6/gallon for oil, it is functional and works fine.
4. I have an endless supply of firewood available for just the labor, and yes, I’ve been cutting firewood for forty years so I’m aware of the work involved. There is room inside the basement right where the new boiler will be to keep all my firewood.
5. The new wood boiler will be a pressurized system, but will not be located in the mechanical room, and will be in the other end of the basement instead, about 40 feet away, but on the same level.
6. Having the systems working completely in parallel is not important to me. I’d be content to disconnect the old system and connect the new one (with shut off valves) and only connect it again if we were leaving for a couple of weeks and didn’t want the house to freeze.

Some questions:

1. There is a false ceiling in the basement, and I wanted to run the pipes from the wood boiler straight up and then through the ceiling and down again. Any problems with that?
2. To connect the new boiler, is it a matter of bringing the new lines down to the existing pipes that come out of the old boiler? Is there a problem with the new boiler being further away?