Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New transmission fluid in home heating oil tank?

hondamastertech
hondamastertech Member Posts: 1
edited October 2021 in THE MAIN WALL
I have been an auto tech for 15+ years and as being in the trade have a collection of new transmission fluid in sealed bottles. A guy I work with has a 1996 Ford F-350 diesel and adds new transmission fluid to his fuel tank and it burns fine. I have been wondering if I could do the same as for home heating oil. I have a 275 gallon tank for reference. Is there any down side to it or any dilution formula to it? I search on google and all I can find is used oil burners (which are not approved for residential dwellings for insurance purposes). Are there any extra things I would need to add to the system?   

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,455
    Doesn't sound like a good idea. Without any way to mix or agitate the fuel the burners combustion would be affected.

You don't want to take a chance inside a house with potential combustion or carbon monozide issues
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,725
    edited October 2021
    I have worked on oil burners for over 40 years. My father was in the fuel oil delivery business. in the last ten years of working on oil heating equipment, I have been called to 5 or 6 different waste oil burners at oil change establishments. They have a lot of waste oil and would otherwise have to pay to dispose of that stuff. I digress.