Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Must I use copper?

josephny
josephny Member Posts: 270

I suspect this is a very (very) basic question, but I'm a complete newbie.

Must we use any copper in a closed radiant system?

Why not pipe exclusively in pex (3/4" or 1") from the boiler through the controls/pumps/valves/manifold/etc.?

Thanks!

Comments

• PC7060
    PC7060 Member Posts: 1,158
    edited January 2021
    Pex is commonly used in hydronic systems; it MUST have integrated oxygen barrier. For example, Pex-Al-Pex.   There are others as well. 
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,569
    Any pex with an O2 barrier is acceptable and widely used.
    Many still prefer copper for the near boiler piping. It is easier to support and looks more professional. It can also handle the hot temps sometimes seen near the boiler better than pex will.
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
    HomerJSmith
  • josephny

Thanks guys!

So, as long as I'm using hePex (for example), and not physically/mechanically supporting the components with the piping, and don't object to the aethestics of it, it's totally fine using 100% pex?
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,569
    I sure don't know of a reason you cannot. What type of boiler is it? What temp are you planning on running. You should be aware that the inside diameter of the pex is quite a bit smaller than copper. You may have to upsize it to get proper flows.
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • Solid_Fuel_Man
    Solid_Fuel_Man Member Posts: 2,646
    Keep in mind that pex will expand/grow when its heated. 
    Serving Northern Maine HVAC & Controls. I burn wood, it smells good!
    mattmia2fenkel
  • pecmsg
    pecmsg Member Posts: 4,843