Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

HELP! comfort aire hydro air

NEtech
NEtech Member Posts: 14
edited November 2020 in THE MAIN WALL
Hey there a little context im a tech relatively new to the field trying to help a buddy out. When I first arrived I found a bad heat relay which was sending continuous power to the zone valve keeping it open. Swapped that out solved that problem. Next only the outlet pipe was getting luke warm I lowered the fan speed Solved that problem. Next the the outlet now getting very hot but inlet still cold. This is the unit for the second floor there is another unit in the basement identical running fine. Swapped zone head actuators FIrst floor still Heats fine. Im stumped

Can the valve be stuck? Is there anyway the valve could get clogged or jam? maybe stay closed even though the knob spins? It seems to be a circulation problem.

Could it be a sign the circ pump is going bad?

HELP

Comments

• HVACNUT
    HVACNUT Member Posts: 5,803
    edited November 2020
    So it was too much heat (constant flow through  the coil), and now it's no heat?
    Did you leave a valve off?
    The outlet (from where?) was luke warm but lowering the fan speed solved it? Put the fan speed back. There were no complaints before this.
    Now the outlet is very hot (from where?) and the inlet is still cold. To where?
    Is the zone valve open? Not the actuator, the valve. 
    Is the loop air bound?
  • SuperTech
    SuperTech Member Posts: 2,137
    That original post was kinda confusing, not sure I follow your troubleshooting process. But it sounds like the loop has air in it. I would try to give it a good purge and put the fan speed back to where it was originally. 
  • NEtech
    Sorry I see how that can sound confusing. 

THERE IS NO HEAT AT ALL.