Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

One Pipe System Wet Return - Can somebody advise ?

JasonFritz
JasonFritz Member Posts: 17
edited September 2020 in Strictly Steam
I am trying to re-do my wet return for a one pipe boiler steam system and I wanted to route the wet return in a different way than the original configuration .
Looking for an advice if what I want is going to work or not ? Obviously I am not a heating professional
I will appreciate any advice . Thanks

Comments

• ethicalpaul
    ethicalpaul Member Posts: 5,694
    edited September 2020
    Yes, it should be fine. The wet return is very forgiving. It can go up, down, all around, as long as it always remains below the waterline.

Of course, the shorter and straighter, the better. You can see my effort in this area here, with lots of good advice from the forum: https://forum.heatinghelp.com/discussion/178547/winter-return-repipe-project/p1

One really good piece of advice, which was also given to me on my thread above, is to make sure to plumb a Tee and valve at each end of the return, with 3/4" garden hose fittings on it so that you can flush out the wet return periodically (honestly like once every 5-10 years should be fine but you can do more with an easy hookup). Without the valves, it's basically impossible to flush it, and being a low point, it will collect gunk.

Try to send your drawing or photos and we can advise more. (Look for the "picture" icon at the top of the message editing area)
    NJ Steam Homeowner. See my sight glass boiler videos: https://bit.ly/3sZW1el
    JasonFritz
  • JasonFritz
    well i want to put it above the waterline .....and only drop down in front of the boiler.
  • ethicalpaul
    Do you mean "keep it above the water line" as in extend the dry part farther?