Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Replacing boiler and HW heater with Combo Boiler.

Options
redwing11
redwing11 Member Posts: 4
I have a 2400 sqft 1960 brick ranch in Denver Co. The boiler is 125k and 50gal HWT with exhaust gases going up a brick chimney. Two people, 2 bathrooms. Newer windows, Rockwool wall insulation, and R38 in the ceiling. I am a welding instructor and carpenter and believe I can install this combi boiler with the help of a friend. My brother in law in Mi is a Licensed Plumber who recommended a Lockinvar Noble 199k for the replacement.

Q1 Would like to exhaust up the chimney with PVC pipe. Would this be best or use SS pipe. The chimney has a clay liner. The fresh air would come in from the side of the house.

Q2 After reading through many posts on this forum I think a Noble 150k would be a better fit for the house. We do use a lot DHW but think the 199k would short cycle too much for heat. What size would you recommend?

Thank you for any wisdom and help you could give me.
Tom

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,158
    Options
    A heat load calculation would be a good starting point, here is a calculator to try.
    I would guess your load would be well under a 100,000BTU/hr
    a 120,00 combi may work. i have a 120 and a 110 at my buildings, plenty of DHW for the two of us.
    https://www.slantfin.com/slantfin-heat-loss-calculator/
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • redwing11
    Options
    Thank you, Hot Rod, I will do the calculation.
  • redwing11
    Options
    Did the calculation and came up with BTU/HR 58430. Know which size Combi boiler DWH to use and again thanks.
  • hot_rod
    Options
    So many good brands available, they are all fairly common under the hood.