Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Soldering question

ChrisJ
ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,583
I've been soldering electronics since 1989. I soldered my first pipe in 1993 and feel I'm pretty good at it. Any time I've soldered pipes, valves etc it generally goes beautifully.

It's been a few years since I've done any plumbing but I still do electronics all the time. I feel I'm good with knowing my temperature and how the solder behaves and what to expect.

I do some brazing from time to time too and always liked my joints.

Today I decided I solder some Uponor fittings into some copper tees. I used my Hercules Climate smooth flux and Lenox solder from 2011 and got everything beautifully clean with a light film of flux.

I expected sexy results.

What I got was not so great. It was like the solder didn't really want to stick to the brass. I got it to flow and hopefully they won't leak but that stunk.

I honestly don't think it was my technique. What gives?
Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment

Comments

• ChrisJ
    edited March 2020
    Does flux go bad?
    Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment
  • hvacfreak2
    hvacfreak2 Member Posts: 500
    The brass and copper heat at different rates. The brass takes longer so I usually pause and let it catch up before I try and apply solder. Or heat on the brass fitting first , just depends on the situation.
    hvacfreak

Mechanical Enthusiast

Burnham MST 396 , 60 oz gauge , Tigerloop , Firomatic Check Valve , Mcdonnell Miller 67 lwco , Danfoss RA2k TRV's

Easyio FG20 Controller

ChrisJCBRobMaxMercy