Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Garage heating offer - should we take it?

HelpInAK
HelpInAK Member Posts: 41
edited January 2020 in THE MAIN WALL
Newbie here. We have a new construction house in Fairbanks AK. The builder is based about 6 hours south and did not have the expertise of home building in the extreme cold climate we experience up north and this was evident in the myriad of problems we had when winter hit (nearly all other new homeowners had problems with this builder too).

One particular problem we had was the pex pipes freezing in garage slab on the far side away from thermostat and boiler. This is now the second winter this has happened and we now simply stopped using the garage for our cars (which is very hard on them keeping them outside at -40F). We were always very careful, only opening the garage for about 30 seconds to move cars, but it wasn’t enough.

We were originally advised that 55F was the minimum we should keep the thermostat. The builder is now saying that 65 is the minimum. However, since other homeowners are having freezing slab issues as well, the builder’s heating contractor is suggesting to disengage the in-floor heat and install a ceiling-hanging unit heater for the garage. The builder has agreed to split the cost of the unit an have it installed, and our total cost would come to around $.

It might be worth noting that I will only be living here for another 3 years as my job will take me somewhere else Apr 2023.

Is this a good idea and is this an offer I should take? Thank you!

Comments

• dopey27177
    dopey27177 Member Posts: 887
    A ceiling hung unit heater is a good idea, BUT I recommend that the unit be powered by Propane.

The propane tank needs to be above ground in a heated shed as propane will not flow in those severe temperatures.