Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Well, well, well...

Timco
Timco Member Posts: 3,040
Howdy.

We bought a home that has 2 wells. I’ve never worked with wells before. Our irrigation is set up so a well re-feeds a 1000 gallon tank and I use another centrifugal well pump (1hp 10gpm) to move water from the tank through some filters and to the sprinkler mains. The issue is the pump in the tank cycles off the pressure switch every 3 seconds on and 3 seconds off. The pump is rated for 300 cycles a day and one zone exceeds this. Can I throttle a pump like that back so it maintains 60psi on the biggest zone then cycles much longer on smaller zones? Not a cheap pump. Thanks.

Tim
Just a guy running some pipes.

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,022
    yeah, try adjusting the pump speed to the glom you need. or a larger, additional well-trol tanks
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,367
    You should be cycling the pump from a water level sensor in the tank, not a pressure switch.
    Bob Boan
    You can choose to do what you want, but you cannot choose the consequences.
    Solid_Fuel_Mandelta T
  • egansen
    egansen Member Posts: 31
    I'm just a home owner but I have lived with wells for water supply for along time. If that little WellXtrol tank is on the second pump that feeds the irrigation system i suspect that it is may be too small. I have a 3/4 horse 10 gpm pump in my well and it has a 44 gallon pressure tank on the system. The tank is usually sized to the pump and it allows the pump to run longer but with fewer cycles (like a buffer tank on a hot water heating system). Another possibility is that the bladder in the tank has failed and the tank is water logged causing short cycling of the pump.