Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

here's a rough one, 7 year old oil fired steam boiler

GW
GW Member Posts: 4,691
Gary Wilson
Wilson Services, Inc
Northampton, MA
gary@wilsonph.com

Comments

• KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,722
    Ok I’m not an expert on an indirect off a steam boiler. Why is there an aquastat on the steam outlet? Is the hot water leg pipes off the top of the boiler in what is essentially a “dry” area? Is that wrong or do I not know what I’m looking at?

Oh and the steam piping is all wrong too.

What did they call you in for?
    2014 Weil Mclain EG-40
    EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Boiler Control
    Boiler pictures updated 2/21/15
  • GW
    KC I was there to give a ductless quote. I ran to the basement to check out the elec panel. This stopped me in my tracks. I'm trying to pay more attention to steam jobs and getting more pics and vids to build myself a small library. I did chat with her a bot about the steam, and she seems content. i'm not gonna break out into some weird 'who did your piping it's all wrong" routine, that's just not in my dna.
    Gary Wilson
    Wilson Services, Inc
    Northampton, MA
    gary@wilsonph.com
  • GW
    yes the water is being dumped into the top of the boiler.
    Gary Wilson
    Wilson Services, Inc
    Northampton, MA
    gary@wilsonph.com
  • Canucker
    Canucker Member Posts: 722
    > @GW said:
    > KC I was there to give a ductless quote. I ran to the basement to check out the elec panel. This stopped me in my tracks. I'm trying to pay more attention to steam jobs and getting more pics and vids to build myself a small library. I did chat with her a bot about the steam, and she seems content. i'm not gonna break out into some weird 'who did your piping it's all wrong" routine, that's just not in my dna.