Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hoping someone can help me - Steam heat - Fin type convectors - Banging noise

ChrisF
ChrisF Member Posts: 46
Hi all! I'm completely new to this, so please bear with me. I recently bought a 2000 square foot, split level house, built in 1958, and it has steam heat, and the fin type, one pipe, convector radiators. My main issue is getting banging noise from the radiators, which are located in the bedrooms above the garage, and farthest from the boiler. The steam boiler is a newer (5 year old) gas powered, Dunkirk model PSB-5D. I talked to a few plumbers, who didn't offer much help, and said things like "Yeah, steam is tricky", but not much else. Most recently, I contacted a local furnace/boiler company to come take a look at everything. They told me that visually, everything looked like it was installed perfectly, with the exception of not having a skim tap installed. So, they installed a skimming tap, skimmed out the sediment and dirty water, and showed me how to perform the skimming myself. Skimming the water from the boiler did make a slight difference, but I was still getting the banging in the upstairs radiators. There are two radiators in each bedroom located above the garage...these are also the radiators that make the most noise. The pitch of the radiators was adequate, and the vents looked fine, but also spit out water. So, I figured I'd try to experiment with getting some new vents, and swapped the Vent-Rite model 11 for a Vent-Rite model 1, which is adjustable. The reason I went with an adjustable one, is because one of the other rooms upstairs had one, and that radiator never made any noise. Anyway, the problem didn't really go away, no matter what setting I made the adjustment to, on the vents. All the other vents in the house are the same size and use Vent-Rite model