Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hammer Issue - Incorrect Near-boiler piping?

nbny88
nbny88 Member Posts: 11
edited December 2018 in Strictly Steam
Hi there,

Total newbie here. Earlier this year, we purchased a 1910 American Foursquare home with two pipe steam heating. I’ve only owned homes before with forced air and baseboard heating. Needless to say, it’s been a learning curve. I’ve been reading many posts on this site about people dealing with water hammer, trying to understand what could be causing my issue. Here’s a breakdown of what I am experiencing:

- Loud water hammer/clanking sounds mid firing cycle. It doesn’t seem to hammer at the start of the boiler firing, and it seems to be worse when the pipes have been cold for some time
- Water hammer sounds seems to be concentrated at two back-to-back Baseray baseboard radiators (separate rooms, sharing the same wall). Both are level. When the hammer is bad, I can feel the radiators almost jump. One of the radiators heats immediately, while the other often takes much longer to heat, and often never heats up at all on a shorter fire.
- Water hammer not present in other parts of the system and radiators/pipes throughout the house
- Water in glass gauge is rust color, and during the firing cycle, jumps a bit and lowers to just an inch of water, before rising again after the boiler shuts off
- Whistling on a few of the radiator air vents, some of which have which have recently been replaced. One is even spewing a little water.
- All radiator valves are open, as far as I can tell

Additionally, I have a local friend who is also an experienced (and well-rated) plumber. He’s been consulting with me on the system, and has recently suggested that the near-boiler piping is wrong. I’ve attached some pictures for reference. He’s thinking that: