Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Desperate for help! Pressure way too high.

We have what I understand is a 1 pipe steam heat system on a small 3 br house and the pressure keeps going up way too high.

Boiler: Gas Crown Series 3/9/2007 Model BSI138SNFZZPSU
Installed by: Some dude that had no clue (my opinion) either way guy is no longer available.

Background:
I'm not an expert by any means.
The system worked after installation (switched from old oil based) the only issue then was that one room was extremely hot compared to the rest of the house. We have a total of 7 radiators in two floors and all vent valves were replaced with hoffmans when boiler was installed. After that, years later I have replaced the ones that seem to fail (radiator cold) with whatever I have found at home depot / lowes. On the room that was extremely hot I used a honeywell temperature controlled valve (installed between the radiator and the vent valve) so that room would have its own temp setting.

Symptoms:
For the past two years and now starting again, the pressure of the system is way too high. The dial on the boiler keeps reading sometimes 5 psi sometimes 10 psi and the Honeywell pressuretrol at the boiler is set to 2 psi main and 1.5 diff. The dial seems to be ok because every now and then it reaches 15 psi and the safety valve at the boiler opens up with its real loud hiss. I've probably had 5 or 6 different professionals looking into this system over the years, at least 3 looking into this very problem and no one can give me a clear explanation of the cause. I hear maybe radiator valves are clogged (I doubt this), the pig tail is clogged (ok), yet no one has been able to come up with a plan to fix it. Maybe they don't really know the solution, maybe they do but don't want to get involved in the fix, maybe a combination of both.