Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam advice

Options
wesPA
wesPA Member Posts: 38
Good evening all,

My first post here. I have been following this site for years and have learned so much from everyone, thanks!

I work in the trade doing mostly commercial HVAC service and some install. I encounter some steam from time to time, but very little. I was asked to look at a system by a friend of our family. The house has an oil fired EFM steam boiler ( 1 pipe radiators) that unfortunately has cracked prior to the current owners moving in due to improper winterizing. I will post the pics I have. I have all the radiator info and am in the process of figuring out the existing EDR. I was curious if the existing boiler matches the radiation. Some things i noticed: Asbestos, open brick chimney, only 1 main vent. I would like any feedback you folks would have on the current near boiler piping, etc. They are looking for advice on whether to keep the system or not, and if so what all needs to be addressed for a system replacement. The current boiler has a tankless coil for DHW The house is about an hour from me in north central PA. I can give more details if needed. Thanks for any input! If my photos didnt load, i will try again

Comments

• Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    Options
    Need some pictures! What cracked? Pipes and/or radiators? If so, it must be a hot water system as a Steam system wouldn't have water in the pipes or rads except a little condensate which wouldn't be enough to crack the pipes or Rads. If it is steam and the wet returns or boiler block cracked, that is possible but pictures are a "Must" for the kind of advise you are asking.
  • Lance
    Lance Member Posts: 270
    Options