Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler protection with a variable delta T pump

SuperTech
SuperTech Member Posts: 2,155
As a service technician I have the tendency to become obsessed with trying to make my boiler as efficient as possible. And I like to have all the bells and whistles that the latest technology offers, because it gives my coworkers and I a good topic of discussion.

Currently I have an oil fired Peerless boiler, single zone monoflow system. It's currently equipped with a Honeywell L7224U digital aquastat with a Honeywell outdoor reset module. Anyone who read my other posts might remember that I recently down fired the boiler. I went from a .85 nozzle and over 500 degree gross stack temperature to 415 degree stack temperature courtesy of a .65 nozzle and low fire baffle.
My only concern is the possibility of developing flue gas condensation.
Now my aquastat when equipped with the outdoor reset module is capable of a sort of boiler protection. It can be programmed for a low boiler temperature setting. During a call for heat the burner will operate until the boiler reaches this temperature before it brings on the pump. I have this set for 140 degrees.

But that makes me wonder about a new toy I've been eyeing. A VT2218 ECM pump. I've read that this pump can be used as a boiler protection device against flue gas condensation. So on my boiler I imagine that this would offer increased protection over the aquastat by pumping slowly until the return temperature rises.

Seems interesting. But would anyone recommend this pump as a boiler protection device? It's certainly easier to install and less expensive than a thermostatic bypass valve. And I should save on electricity as well.
Or am I worrying about flue gas condensation when I shouldn't? Any suggestions are welcome!

Comments

• Rich_49