Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Electrical Question

We just had a new A/C and heat pump installed with an air handler in our attic that controls the temperature for the second floor of our house. Previously there were only heat strips in for this portion of our house, and they required a 60 amp breaker. The new system has a max 45 amp breaker, and the installer recommended a 30 amp breaker (I'm not sure why the difference). The electrician came out today to change out the breaker and said that the wire was too large for the new smaller breaker. His plan is to leave in the 60 amp breaker, but to change the disconnect in the attic instead. Is this a viable alternative? I have little to no working knowledge of how these things work and want to make sure that I'm not risking a house fire. Any information would be appreciated!

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,160
    There is no such thing as a wire "too large" for a breaker -- unless it is physically too large; that is, it won't fit into the terminals properly. That does happen, and it may be the case in this situation although I would rather doubt it.

As to the 45 amp vs. the 30 amp breaker to protect the equipment... generally is best to go with the manufacturer's recommendation, but if the installer is willing to state that the 30 amp breaker is correct for the equipment -- in writing -- there would be no real harm to trying it.

Is there a separate fused or breakered disconnect in the attic? It is readily accessible? If it's not readily accessible, I'd not be really happy with it; I've never been keen on having fuses or breakers scattered around the building here and there...
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    Empire_2Zman
  • JUGHNE