Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

LONG Introduction of my DIY project and some questions on boiler, controls, etc.

Greetings, All. I am brand-new to this forum, but have been lurking quite a while, just soaking-up all of the wonderful ideas and information offered here. I am in the process of re-building my own home from the inside-out (long story), a 2,600 sf rambling mostly-ranch-style "cabin" that was added-onto 11 times from 1917 to 1989 up in the mountains on the Front Range of Colorado (7,500 msl, town of Estes Park).

Personally, I am an architect and DIY homebuilder, through the last 20 years this being home #5 that I have remodeled/ rebuilt and hopefully my last. I do all of the trades myself and will occasionally sub-out parts of the project as the building permit will allow.

I bought "Siggy's" Modern Hydronic Heat book as well as his wonderful software Hydronics Design Studio to help me in the designing and building of a modern hydronics system on this home. I am also making my way through Caleffi's awesome Idronics series.

As-built with modern polyiso insulation in walls and ceiling, my heat loss on a design day (-7F) is 49k BTU. I also have estimated ~50k for worst-day DHW and up to ~50k if we choose to heat our spa from the same source. I am going with a sandwich-style radiant floor heat, 1/2" PEX-AL-PEX with omega-style plates, and some radiant walls in bathrooms and the entry and hall spaces where my flux in the floor can't quite handle the loss from the windows/doors. I also have a conditioned crawl space that I need to decide how to heat enough to keep pipes from freezing (fan coil or traditional baseboard, maybe?). Also on the wish list are towel warmers in the bathrooms. Floors are 1/2" strand bamboo in the living areas and porcelain tile on backer board in the entry areas and bathrooms.