Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New steam boiler install chemical smell in house

Hi all,
I'm a service tech for a large HVAC co. We replaced a steam boiler this summer with a weil mclain. As soon as winter started, customer began calling complaining of chemical odor. I thought it was just oils on pipes, or glue or insulation in boiler jacket, and told her let the system run and this odor will go away. After a month, she called back-still stinks. I began to think maybe it was not coming from outside but rather inside and the boiler water was smelly and escaping into the house via the rad. vents. So I attacked it from that angle. I skimmed the boiler 3 different times using TSP two of those times. I put squick in. all to no avail. The installers all use propress now to speed up the jobs, so I thought maybe the o-rings were off-gassing. We removed all propress. The customer had asbestos removed by an outside contractor who then painted the pipes with something I assume is used to lock in any left over fibers. Could this paint be the culprit? Is it just latex paint, or something else? The customer is ready to go to the press over this, and neither we nor the weil mclain rep have any ideas. Ive never had this problem before. Any suggestions?

Comments

• Have you smelled this yourself?
    See if you can get the abatement company to tell you what they painted the pipes with.
    I would drain the boiler, and flush out any additives, Squick, etc, and then more skimming. I believe that there may be another old post here on Squick, and smelly boiler, so do a search.
    I wonder if propress is applicable to the riser pipe sizes needed for most steam boilers-2 1/2 inches.--NBC
    clammy
  • scottnjr
    scottnjr Member Posts: 60