Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Fears about new construction with radiant heat flooring

Hi all,
Sorry I'm a newbie at all this so please bear with me and my perhaps silly comments/questions.
I have read dozens of other posts just to reassure you, but I need a little more "specific" help for my own situation to remove my fears.
Brief description: We are having a new house built in Quebec, Canada (that = cold winters fyi) House is half ICFS (bottom floor) = R23.5 and half 2X6 frame with 3/4inch insulated OSB board ext = roughly R26.
2 floors (1 semi-basement? meaning 4 feet under ground, and 1 above grade floor) total sq/ft = 2000 (1000 per story).
We have put PEX in the basement slab, and will be putting suspended PEX under subfloor for above grade floor. Concentrating on the above grade floor:
Our contractor has done this before with success and we can't afford aluminium staple up plates for the whole thing, but he will be putting bubble-foil and then 4 inches of Cellulose insulation below the PEX tubing. We will have an electric water heater or boiler running the radiant flooring.
Now finding knowledgeable people on this subject in our rural area here is near impossible.
So my big big concern here and first question is:

Should we/must we install secondary complimentary electric baseboard heating for the really cold days up here or will the radiant flooring suffice?
Our electrician is about to wire up the house and we kinda have to decide this quickly.

And last but not least question: I am in love with cork flooring. I've read other posts, and researched the manufacturer to see if radiant is acceptable. It appears to be OK. However, my cork floor reseller is saying no! Help! They say I won't be able to get the room temps above 19 degrees Celsius (66 Farenheit) because of cork being an insulator.