Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Trying to loosen / remove main vents---they won't budge.

Roddy
Roddy Member Posts: 63
Novice here, and over the last 8-10 years have learned a lot from this site. Thank you all. Weil McLain residential boiler about 30-40 years old, and working fairly well in my 90 year old house----due to your input and training of this novice. A while back (years, now), I replaced the two single main vents mounted on my two returns with a candelabra of 3 Gorton no. 1's on the end of each of the two returns. I want to remove them to check them out, etc. I know I'm older now, and maybe not as strong, but for the life of me I can't seem to get either the vents themselves or any part of the candelabra to budge, to loosen at all. To complicate things, of course they're up between my basement ceiling joists with not a whole lot of room . I realize I may have tightened them a little too much on installation, but still... Any suggestions that I might try to get them loose?

Comments

• You just might need to hire someone to do that job because it's tough to get up in that joist bay to get leveraged properly to wrench on those fittings. And after a few heating seasons, the threads on those vents don't want to let go.
    8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
  • BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    edited October 2016
    An 18 inch wrench should be more than enough to loosen those. I had to fight with my old vent a number of years ago to get it free, what kind of joint compound did you use when they were installed? Some compounds get very hard over time.

Try to get yourself up close to them so you nan use all of your strength to loosen them.

Bob
    Smith G8-3 with EZ Gas @ 90,000 BTU, Single pipe steam