Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Copper Tubing for Steam Boilers?

RayWohlfarth
RayWohlfarth Member Posts: 1,459
I am old fashioned in my thinking and need some help on this one. I met with the installer of a steam boiler for a local brewery and he asked if he could use copper to connect the piping to the boiler. I looked at him like he had an extra nose and said condescendingly, We do not use copper on steam boilers and folded my arms to show my conviction. I have been taught ever since I was a first year apprentice that copper is not used on steam. He ignored my folded arms and began to debate me. He said copper is used for refrigeration and they have pressures higher than most boilers. He remained me R410 refrigerant has pressures almost 400 PSI. I found this article on copper.org and they say copper can be used on low and high pressure boilers, depending on how it is connected. Have I been misinformed my whole life? Thanks for your help.
Tale between my Legs...
Ray
https://www.copper.org/applications/plumbing/techcorner/cu_tube_steam_systems.html
Ray Wohlfarth
Boiler Lessons

Comments

• ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,583
    edited August 2016
    Copper not being used on steam heating boilers has absolutely nothing to do with pressure. I'm curious why you believed it did?

It's mostly about thermal expansion and swing joints. Soldered joints don't swing, they break. Copper expands and contracts quite a bit more than steel with temperature change. The threaded joints allow things to move back and forth as the piping and boiler heat and cool.

Some feel galvanic corrosion is also a concern, personally I do not when done correctly.