Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Oil to Gas steam system in Boston

Hi all I have peruse the site on this subject but I am still confuse since I am a newbie.
New home owner moved in right after Christmas in a two family in Boston came home this weekend to water in our basement and no heat in our unit.
We have two oil one pipe steam system, the Plumber came and told us the boiler is dead and need replacing.
We were planning to change them to gas in the spring/summer but got to do it now.

Unit 1 is about 1099 sq using a oil weil mclain gold series with a separate water heater. (that's the one that leaked)
unit 2- about 1300 sq got an older oil thankless system will post the model and picture later. This one is currently working but older than the unit 1 system that leaked this weekend.

Here's what I am looking for help with. The previous owner build a bathroom in the basement with no permit and the job was done poorly. they raised unit 1 flue pipe for head room clearance and it drop on its way to the chimney after the bathroom.
-One contractor told me they can power-vent it outside so it would not have to go though the chimney. But I've read on here that a lot of folks don't recommend it.
-another contractor said they can run a smaller pipe and go around it and still has enough elevation to the chimney but their quote is more than five figure more. or they mentioned that the bathroom woodwork can be taking down at additional cost.

I would like to keep the bathroom and renovate it down the line, it is really a bad idea to power vent the outside?
Unit 2 system is right next to the chimney so there isn't much issue with that one other than the fact that we'll now have to get a water tank for it I am told there is no gas all in one unit as currently existed there.