Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help finding the right hydronic boiler/heat source

tbrooks
tbrooks Member Posts: 100
Hello. I am a diy'er looking for some help. This is my first time dealing with one of these systems. I have been getting a lot of help from an engineer in the field and they have been really great. Being a novice though I have been bugging them with lots of questions, and I feel I need to find more info on my own. I do have Modern Hydronic Heating, which I read most of and have been using for reference, but there is just a lot of info in there for a novice. For some info I will be remodeling an existing home to make it into a 4 bed, 2 bath, 1300sqft single story home for myself. It will be an underfloor hydronic system. It is a framed floor with a crawlspace. I will be installing all of this myself, I'm sure that will be lots of fun! 6 zones and 10 circuits, with 1600ft of 3/8 pipe. I know that is a lot of circuits for a 1300sqft home, but long story short, it has to be that way for proper heat distribution.

My fuel of choice is Propane gas. Natural gas is not available here, and electric rates are high around here. My dream home would have a wood boiler, but this is not my dream house and my budget will not allow for that. I'm trying to keep all costs to a minimum, but I will not cheap out now, and make mistakes that will cost me more money and labor in the future.