Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Always on a holiday...

FranklinD
FranklinD Member Posts: 399
Hello out there in Heatingland. I woke up on this Thanksgiving to an outside temp of -2*f, and my phone ringing.

My mom's house is cold, but when she stands next to the boiler, it's hot (a WM 176k gas boiler on an old gravity system, installed in 1997).

Disclaimer: I'm no heating expert, I'm a heavy equipment mechanic by trade.

I went over to take a look, and sure enough, the lil tiny NRF22 (I think) pump isn't running...until I gave it a whack. And it sounds awful. The system is circulating by gravity, but must be restricted by the newer, smaller, near-boiler piping.

Fortunately for us, I still have the Taco 007 that came with my new boiler sitting on the shelf in my basement. And the company that installed her boiler put isolation valves on the pump. Hooray!

She's back up and heating now, and tomorrow I'll see about figuring out the right size pump and finding one, but the Taco will work for now.

It never fails to happen when it's inconvenient, eh?

Happy Thanksgiving to all the great people who frequent this site...I'd know absolutely nothing (instead of next to nothing) without you folks.
Ford Master Technician, "Tinkerer of Terror"
Police & Fire Equipment Lead Mechanic, NW WI
Lover of Old Homes & Gravity Hot Water Systems

Comments

• Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    https://heatinghelp.com/systems-help-center/sizing-circulators-for-old-gravity-hot-water-systems/

Yup had that with my sewer line. Every year for about 4 years she would back up on a holiday, or weekend. Tree roots.
  • FranklinD