Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Can boiler be run for domestic hot water when heating pipes are drained for repairs?

NassauTom
NassauTom Member Posts: 51
edited November 2014 in THE MAIN WALL
I am draining the pipes and radiators in my hydronic heating system down to about 6 feet above the basement floor to cut out and replace a pipe near the basement ceiling. The boiler also supplies domestic hot water. Is it safe to run the boiler to heat domestic hot water while having the circulators turned off?

Comments

• Docfletcher
    Docfletcher Member Posts: 487
    Wait for a pro's answer to be sure...

I'm no pro, but I would say not safe or good for the boiler because the water in the boiler jacket will not circulate, causing a rapid increase in water temperature (short cycling).

I am assuming you are speaking of hot water supplied by a coil in the boiler as opposed to an indirect water heater with it's own circulator.

• billtwocase
    billtwocase Member Posts: 2,385
    I can be done by a pro. The system needs to be full, closed, and expansion tank not isolated. Feed and returns capped off, low water cut installed hopefully.
  • ww
    ww Member Posts: 282
    edited November 2014
    is this a result of that cracked radiator you had?

when i replaced a circulator as well as did some top floor radiator work i drained the system down to reach the top of the boiler. i made sure the thermostat was off and no call for heat would happen. i lowered the hi limit on the aquastat since i wasn't using the circulator and a 20 degree differential didn't matter.

my situation involved having no circulator for a month or so for which i utilized a bypass pipe in place of circulator. at the time the expansion tank was drained too. i didn't need heat anyway during that time.