Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How serious an issue is water quality?

I work in the hydronics industry in Switzerland, where radiant heating is ubiquitous and where hydronic systems must conform to fairly strict criteria for water quality. Obviously the US is different.

But in the States, is poor water quality a sleeping beast that people are sometimes unaware of, or is it simply not much of an issue?

The company I work for produce a residential hydronic filter (<a href="http://www.sorbox.com/">www.sorbox.com</a>) designed to protect hydronic heating systems from rust, limescale, and gasses.  Anybody in the industry is well aware of those problems, but is there a need in the market for a more effective, higher quality product?  Or are existing air/dirt separators doing the job just fine?

Comments

• Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
    A sleeping giant...

Water quality issues are REAL, and most contractors are not paying attention to them. Our older cast iron systems had very large water ways, so fouling was not a major issue. As those older beast die, and are being replaced with tighter clearance water wayed boilers, it is, and does become a problem.

It is slow to raise its head, but it will become an issue eventually. Some high efficiency heat source manufacturers have begun addressing the need for water quality control in their installation manuals.

It is also being addressed by the code authorities, but will be tough to enforce in the long run.

ME
    It's not so much a case of "You got what you paid for", as it is a matter of "You DIDN'T get what you DIDN'T pay for, and you're NOT going to get what you thought you were in the way of comfort". Borrowed from Heatboy.
  • DanHolohan
    DanHolohan Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 16,513
    My thoughts, too.