Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam Boiler Flooding

Alchemist
Alchemist Member Posts: 25
Hi all,

Here's the situation (and I'm a novice, btw).

Medium sized residential steam boiler in a 3 story, 5 unit condo complex. The boiler heats intermittently, unevenly, and seems to be flooding on a regular basis.

There is a condensate return tank with a boiler feed pump. Into the condensate tank run the condensate return line and an automatic water replacement feed from city water. The automatic feed does not have a pump, as far as I can tell, but has several valves, the last being a reducing valve.

The overflow vent from the condensate tank regularly dumps a lot of water on the water. Not just a bit of overflow, but many gallons. One of the contractors I've had look at said the whole system shouldn't every return more than about 10 gallons.. However, he took 35-40 gallons out one day.

It takes several gallons to run clean.

Here is the confusing part..one day I observed the following. Following tenant complaints, I went over one day to reset the thermostat to 1-2 degrees higher. The boiler was not fired up, but the feed pump was running continuously (for the 15-20 minutes I was there-at least sounded like it was running). I made a note of it but didn't really understand what I was hearing/seeing. BTW, the condensate return tank during this whole period was about 1/3 full.

Fast forward 6 hours and a tenant tells me the pump still sounds like it is running. The boiler hasn't fired in about 12 hours.