Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

want feedback piping WOOD boiler gas mod/con backup via reverse indirect BUFFER tank

rainmaker
rainmaker Member Posts: 20
Hello! This is my first time, so bear with me. I am looking for advice on piping my home hydronic heating system so I've have been reading a lot of these forum threads and various other sources. I plan to post some detail info and a sketch separately to break it up and allow various replies to each...

(more in the next post)

Basically this is an old wood farm house in upstate NY that is getting some needed upgrades, like insulation, air-sealing, and removing the old oil furnace to put in radiant heating by indoor wood boiler with LPG propane gas modulating condensing boiler as backup. Since the place has an open basement ceiling, an open ceiling under the bathroom project and needed structural repairs in another ceiling, we are putting in staple up radiant pex. Toyed with idea of solid fuel renewables and found a great deal on refurbished wood unit and a discount on plumbing parts via a friend. We designed distribution, calculated heat loss, have sizes in mind so time to put it all together so I can order pipe, pumps and wire...

Have some experience with hydronic and radiant and very handy but lack a lot of hands-on experience or super detailed tech knowledge. like most I know just enough to get me in trouble... Huge respect for those that contribute their time and expertise! I'm impressed already by the technical and detailed replies to others.

Thanks in advance!

_T_

Comments

• rainmaker
    info on the house and radiant concept

House is approximately 1400 SF, 2-story, detached, built 1850s, stone footing log floor balloon stud wood frame in upstate NY near Kingston in the historic Hudson Valley.