Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Converting oil burner to gas burner questions

Hi,

I have a 4 unit apartment building heated by a steam boiler with an oil burner. I am thinking with gas prices being so cheap compared to oil,  of just converting the burner from an oil burner to gas burner.

My plumber gave me a price for the labor, and he asked me to buy the burner myself. He said I needed one that can carry 75,000 BTUS? Does that make sense for this size building?

What brand of burner is suggested? I have a Riello presently.

Thanks in advance for help.

Jamie

Comments

• Hap_Hazzard
    Hap_Hazzard Member Posts: 2,846
    What kind of boiler is it?

I'm by no means an expert on the subject, but I get the impression that certain burner-boiler combinations work better than others.

If you don't get a response here, try re-posting this question in the Gas Heating forum or the main wall.
    Just another DIYer | King of Prussia, PA
    1983(?) Peerless G-561-W-S | 3" drop header, CG400-1090, VXT-24
  • vaporvac
    vaporvac Member Posts: 1,520
    call boiler and burner manufacturers

Homeowner here...but this is what I did when getting a gas conversion burner to go with my new SF TR50s. First off, call the boiler manufacturer to find out if that's possible, safe or does it void any warranties. Be aware that other things on the boiler may need to be changed because of it. For example, one of my risers needed to be upsized for the gas burner.