Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hello

Hello, and thanks for this forum.  I feel lucky to have found this place.  I am a steam heat rookie.  From reading here I bought and read Dan's book.  TWICE!  It was great.

Heating bills last season (first season I ever had steam heat) were sky high.  That's how I found this place - looking for help or resources to get the system running more efficiently.  The bills were so high, I considered ripping the whole heating system out and replacing it with something different.  But luckily I found this place and Dan's book.  I'm hoping (praying, actually), that the gas bills might be a little more reasonable this time around.

I had asbestos removed a couple weeks ago.  The white paint on the pipes is from the removal process.  The pipes that are their natural color did not have asbestos on them.  I guess the previous homeowner removed some of it themselves some years ago.

Since having the removal done I began insulating the pipes with 1" fiberglass sleeves.  I'm not finished yet, but the process is not at all difficult.  It's just a little time consuming.  I'm hoping to finish the job this Saturday.

I'm attaching some pictures of my "twins" in the basement.  I see at least one area of concern.  It looks like there was a copper pipe repair / replacement done.  The presence of the copper pipe is a concern in itself, but it also looks like the repair process changed the pitch of the attached pipes.  I'm hoping for some comments, feedback and suggestions about this.  Am I mistaken in what I think I see?   Also, if there are other problems, please let me know.  The vents look old and rusty.  Should I replace them?  Are there enough?