Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

newbie needs help

Okay I am totally new to having a boiler. Just bought a house thas about 100 plus years oldand went to turn on the heat the other day and about 15 min later I find my basement looking more like a sauna. Here is a little backround to the story. We found this house and after we put our bid in someone broke in and stole some of the copper. The guy we bought it from had a team of contractors staying here after that till we closed. They replaced the copper. I talked to the contractors one day and they mentioned that whoever stole the copper never turned off the pump so that got replaced to. So now I am having a prob with the heat and I start checking things out. I bled the lines and fired it up again it starts out about 15 psi and starts climbing once the temp gets about 140 the pressure is at almost 30 soon after the valve will pop and there is where the steam comes from. One thing that is confusing me is the pump which is towards your the bottom of the boiler has a flow arrow pointing up which leads to the valves for my 4 zones. But the valves all have arrows pointing down. Could this be the problem? Which one is right?

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    edited September 2013
    A picture..

Could you post a picture of what you have along with the boiler model?

Is there an expansion tank in your system?

Carl
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • timberwolf77
    timberwolf77 Member Posts: 6
    model

Utica 175AGB yes there is an expansion tank.
  • Zman
    Backwards

The circulator should be pumping the other way. You should be able to close the green handled gate valves and just flip the circulator over.