Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Please Judge my layout...

Javelin
Javelin Member Posts: 138
Heating Pros... The boiler TT Prestige 250 has been ordered and the plywood is up and waiting. Now I'm wrestling with the layout. I'm a graphic designer by trade, so admittedly a little crazy and decided to do a life-sized layout on paper so I can count necessary valves, fittings, pumps, etc. I have two layouts (attached) one a "straight" layout, and another with a secondary loop layout. I'm guessing that the secondary loop one is the way to go, but also had some feedback that it might be unnecessary give my system... Here are some facts/questions to consider if you would:

1) My system is an old (1911) gravity fed hydronic system that has been converted to gas with pumps. All of the current near boiler piping is 1.5" copper (reduced down from 2.75" black iron).

QUESTION 1: I'm planning on doing most of my new near-boiler piping in 1.25" as that's what the boiler outlet/inlet size is, then just converting up the 1.5" near the old boiler where I tie into the current circuits.

QUESTION 2: I have on my mockup an air separator... Given the fact that my system is old and probably had a bunch of gook in it, would a dirt separator make sense also? If so where do I put it..

QUESTION 3: Do I need/should I be using a low-loss header like the Spirovent Jr. that combines air and dirt separation and hydronic separation? A colleague mentioned that I might not need this as the new high efficiency boilers thrive with cooler water returns and had something to do with my big old cast iron pipes.

(DUMB) QUESTION 4: I've always seen pumps installed vertically.. is there any reason why they can't be put in horizontally?