Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Converting from oil to natural gas - Navien CH210 was recommended

LL
LL Member Posts: 10
Hi,

I've been reading here on the forum and have seen lots of useful info as we convert from oil fired hot water heating to natural gas fired. My background is just a do-it-yourself homeowner, and I know this project is beyond my abilities, but I like to be as informed as I can on major expenditures.

First, a bit about my house/system: 3 bedroom, 1 bath, 1953 ranch house, about 1300 sq. ft. I have efficient replacement windows all around and have sealed the house pretty tightly, and upgraded the attic insulation. The geographic area is upstate NY (Albany area). My current heating system is a 91,000 BTU oil fired HW boiler, 9 years old, with a tankless coil for DHW. The radiation is copper piping with baseboard radiators each consisting of 3 horizontal copper tubes with steel (?) fins.

I've been getting estimates on the job and one proposal is for a Navien CH210. It looks great in theory. I've been doing a lot of research on it and other models, but am not fully confident on this model's reliability and durability. I think that's my major concern, coming from a background of cast iron boilers that really don't need much in the way of maintenance other than cleaning and tune-up.

Has anyone got personal experience with the CH210? What sort of maintenance do combi boilers require? So far I have two estimates from different contractors (with other options included) and the prices are quite a bit different. Budget is an issue as I'm retired and I'm hoping to take advantage of the current double rebate offered by National Grid, and everyone I have talked to says their heating bill with the narutal gas is about half of what they paid for oil.

Thanks.

Comments

• Zman