Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Do I really need a Navien CH-240?

Ruckus
Ruckus Member Posts: 1
Hi guys,

Just looking for some input. I'm going to replace my old boiler and water heater soon. The plumber wants to put in a Navien CH-240. Now I'm no expert but I did the heat loss calculation for my house and came back with about 105,000 BTU for a standard boiler. I know the Navien is a Combi but the CH-240 is 199,000 BTU. Isn't that overkill? My house has one zone with 10 hot water radiators about 4ft each average. I ask the plumber to do the setup so I can add another zone for when I refinish the basement. But the basement is only about 500sf. Is the CH-240 a good idea or should I ask him to go with the CH-180? Thanks in advance

Comments

• CMadatMe
    CMadatMe Member Posts: 3,086
    No

You really need a CH240-ASME that is piped and installed correctly. Also need to measure the sqft of edr of the rads to calculate the proper heating curve.
    "The bitter taste of a poor installation remains much longer than the sweet taste of the lowest price."
  • Dabbler
    Dabbler Member Posts: 5
    Buy a boiler

Why don't you put in a real boiler and an indirect, something that is easy to clean, easy to service and can run at 95% or better for your cast iron radiation. Navien is a glorified water heater which has to be ordered "special" for the ASME rating.
  • bob eck
    bob eck Member Posts: 930
    Navien?