Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

replaced the steam boiler/ no vents on the mains un balanced heat?

vish
vish Member Posts: 9
Went to a job. House had 2 40yrs old steam boilers.One for up stairs one for main floor. The main floor boiler cracked. Removed both 86mbh and installed 1 125mbh. Measured the radatiors 375 sq ft. The new boiler has 365sq ft. The old boiler had no hartford loop or equalizer line no main steam vents. The system only heats 1/2 of the house . Would some main line vents help get the steam over there.

Comments

• Rob_40
    Rob_40 Member Posts: 55
    edited January 2013
    Vents are a must.

I am not a heating expert.  I dont even play one on TV.   It sounds like there were two independant steam systems originally.    Are both steam circuits now connected to the single boiler?  (My apologies if this question seems insulting.)

Everything I have read requires vents, and big ones at that, on the main pipes so that the steam reaches all the risers at the same time.  Perhaps that steam is reaching only the radiator or radiators that are closest to the thermostat, and shutting off the thermostat before the steam reaches the remaining radiators.
  • BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    Pictures?

Post some pictures of the boiler, the piping around it, and how it is tied into the steam mains. Somebody might spot something.

Did you tie the returns together below the boiler water line?

Bob
    Smith G8-3 with EZ Gas @ 90,000 BTU, Single pipe steam
    Vaporstat with a 12oz cut-out and 4oz cut-in
    3PSI gauge
  • Charlie from wmass
    Charlie from wmass Member Posts: 4,318
    edited January 2013
    What you did is not ideal.

two boilers would have given zoning and a better efficientcy to the system. Photos would help diagnose it. Also the boiler is too small.