Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Very busy and loud feed water solenoid

Hello all. I am a steamfitter apprentice and am lucky enough to be managing the apartment building that I live in which has a one pipe steam heating system. What a great experience, hay? This is my third winter in this building, so I do know that this system definitely needs some tlc. I have been given the green light this year by the owner of the building to do some things that need to be done. There was a water hammer problem. I have mostly fixed that by chiseling out a larger hole in a block wall and properly pitching a pipe. The system is much more balanced since I have cleaned and replaced almost all of the vents in the building. There is plenty more to do and I am happy to be doing it... So enough about me. here's what's going on that is a new problem for this year. The solenoid valve on the feed water line is working overtime especially at the start of the heating cycle, and it is very loud when it operates. Bang when it opens and BANG even louder when it closes. I know that it should not be working at all or at least very little. I know that this hammering that I'm hearing may have been there last year but I just didn't notice it because the valve operated so much less and I probably never heard it. So, I bought a steamy deal from this site and got Greening Steam, The Lost Art of Steam Heating, We Got Steam Heat, and A Pocketful of Steam Problems. I have been reading We Got Steam Heat, and I'm kinda leaning towards a partially clogged wet return line... Fill me in fellas, I'm ready to learn.

Comments

• Water feeding frenzy