Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

SUBMERGED boilers and water heater. what absolutely needs to be replaced?

Joseph_4
Joseph_4 Member Posts: 271
HI. I'm a heating contractor in NYC. I live in the Rockaways on Long Island. I have lots of customers who both Boiler and water heater have submerged either partially, some fully in salt water. I'm working on one customer"s boiler and told him, I'm replacing all controls electrical, gas valve, pump etc that have been under water. am cleaning up  all burner tubes. After replacing everything it still isn't lighting off smoothly all the time. I wont let him use it until its burning properly. Its natural gas.

On the GAS end: I replaced the gas valve and thermocouple. I removed the pilot orifice- it was clean. I emptied out water from the pilot tubing and blew out what ever water was left. I removed   all  the burners tubes and  emptied them out from water and wiped them down and  put them back. I cleaned the burner manifold tube and  soaked the water as much as possible  with paper towels and cleaned out the burner manifold orfices. The pilot is burning nicely a clean blue flame. 

PROBLEM :When I turn the boiler on, on a call for heat when the main valve opens up some of the time theres a delay of 2-3 seconds and the flame lights with a small boom/explosion, but sometimes it works smoothy.

I tried to adjust the pilot flame thinking that the pilot flame thinking that the pilot flame was a little  small and  I found it already at its maximum before I touched it.

I  obviously did not leave the customer like that. Shut down boiler.That's where I ended last night