Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Very slow depressurization time

Howdy,

Want to say right off, that this is the most useful forum I have come across on the net due to the helpful folks willing to give advice.

Now on to the issue I am seeing with my heat system...

I have a peerless oil-fired steam boiler that heats a 2-floor, 1800 sq ft, 1890 house that we moved into a few years ago. I have never had steam heat before so I'm a complete newbie in all things steam (I've ordered the The Lost Art of Steam Heating to hopefully fill in a bit of info). We've had our oil company provide tune-ups/inspections yearly with no major issues found.

After reading some info here and learning the proper pressure for this type of system to operate in, I observed our furnace and saw it reaching levels upwards of 15psi during heating (shows the value of those inspections!). Now knowing that this is an issue I spent some time investigating and determined the pigtail was nearly plugged shut. I replaced it and ordered a low pressure gauge to install on a T with the installed pressuretrol to get a better feel of what is going on.

I then did some testing with the pressuretrol...running the furnace and adjusting the cut-out to see if the psi numbers would match up. No matter what I did, the pressuretrol would not shut-off the system...thinking it's better to be safe than sorry in this area, I ordered a replacement. It should arrive tomorrow for me to install.