Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

gurgling in one room, no heat in another

---reposted from main wal---

Good morning,

I have read Dan's book and searched this site and I've had trouble finding anyone with my specific set of circumstances. I am hoping that someone can help me!

I am new to the house, first winter coming up. Boiler itself is just a few years old and works seemingly perfectly. All the radiators in the house are a different story. Upon first firing up the heater for the first few cycles, I had pretty severe water hammer. That lead me straight to the books and research. I have taken care of most or all of the hammer (from time to time it seems to want to remind me that it can hammer if it wants to) by trouble shooting pitches and vents. All that said, I think i have cause other problems that I didnt notice when it used to hammer..... or maybe i just couldnt hear these new problems over the hammer.

I have the one pipe system with two, arguably three mains. each main 1 and 2 has a freshly replaced vent, main 1 size gorton 1 and main 2 is maid o mist 4 (these were replaced on a like for like basis for what was already there,  i will trouble shoot this at a later time since the maid o mist 4 is probably too small).      generally speaking, i think i can get the two mains and all radiators on those runs figured out by continuing to troubleshoot pitch and vent size and having a little patience. I have already taken it a pretty far way from where it was. My house is organized as follows:

Main 1 feeds 1st flr living room (biggest radiator in house), 2nd flr master bedroom, 2nd flr master bathroom, and 1st flr office.

Main 2 feeds 2nd flr hall bathroom, 1st floor family room (where thermostat exists), 2nd floor guest bedroom, and 1st floor powder room.