Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Small 4-Plex super insullated - Best cost-effective way to heat units

Jerlit
Jerlit Member Posts: 1
Hi there,

I am a small general contractor and we are now going into building and owning our own rental unit division.  We have plans for dozens of apartments building in the nest 10 years and have decided to start building a "pilot project" this year to see if we want to continue on with the business. 

Our plan is to build super-insulated buildings with r-40 in walls and r 60 in ceilings.  The buildings will all be very similar and stack-able.  We have plans for a modular design.  The units will be 2 story at the most will be up to 12 units total.  They all have exterior entrances and no hallway's will be required.  I have attached a few pages of the plans for anyone to view.  You will see the design is simple. 

My question is this.  I have been interested in the Yukon Housing corporation and watching how they build for cold environments such as i live in.  They often heat their homes with some form of radiant or even electric heat.  Apparently if your home requires very little to heat as it is super-insulated then electric works well.  One thing about electric that i like is its super inexpensive installation cost.  But i am afraid of fire.  I really like radiant heat but it cost so much more in the initial setup.  I would also like to keep the system isolated so i can charge each tenant based on their energy usage.  I have also come across units such as the rinnai units, but not sure if it would work with my design. 

The most important aspects are ease of installation, costs, and efficiency.  If there is anyone that could comment on this project it would be much appreciated.  Just not to sure what to do here.