Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need to repair radiant heat before winter

Options
Nick62087
Nick62087 Member Posts: 1
Hello,

I'm new to radiant heating (previous houses I've lived in have been forced air or electric) and I need some advice for getting my system operational, and I have some specific questions as far as repairs and upgrades.  I apologize if this post is too long:

I bought a foreclosure that had BOTH an improperly winterized heating system and stolen copper.  The stolen pipes aren't a big deal, there's enough left so i can figure out what ran where.  My biggest problems are the cracked radiators, actual volume of work, and that I have no idea if the system ever worked properly.  I have little knowledge about heating systems, but I have decent technical ability and most of the required tools (I think). 

What i have:

Burnham boiler, from '04, model 204PVNI-T2

Expansion tank with air valve on bottom, looks like about 3gal capacity

Taco circulator, 1/25 HP

2 taco 572-2 zone valves

Base-ray baseboard radiators, some of these have visible cracks

runs to baseboards are 3/4 pipe

My thoughts:

Furnace holds pressure when i close all the valves and open the 'fill' valve from the water supply, so i assume its good.

I could probably test the circulator by putting 120v on it, just for a second

I could probably pressure-test the radiators with either compressed air or by connecting a hose to a water supply

My questions:

Pipe coming from furnace starts with large pipe with tees to smaller pipe to each room, should i set it up the way it was, or get a manifold system? I assume i need 2 manifolds for 2 zones?

Is 3/4 pipe for each room standard?  A lot of stuff i've seen online is for 1/2" runs...