Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Weil McLain Gold GV Series 2 with Honeywell S9201a module - intermittent issues

MikeWeeks
MikeWeeks Member Posts: 3
Hi everyone,

I'm a relatively new homeowner with a 4 zone radiant heat setup, installed by a prior owner who was a steamfitter by trade. The system worked beautifully last winter, and now that we are starting to have cold weather in NJ this year we're noticing some intermittent issues.

We have a McLain Gold GV Series 2 boiler with a Honeywell s9201a control module, feeding into a Weil McLain Plus 40 water heater.

Over the last few weeks we've had issues with running out of hot water, and the last two days we've noticed the boiler not running normally. I've had PSEG (our local utility who provides HVAC servicing as well) out to look at the boiler and they are unable to determine what the issue is short of telling me to monitor, power cycle if the issue persists, and potentially replace the control module proactively to see if that's the issue.

In checking the boiler - we have done the following:

1. Monitored the light sequence on the control module to ensure it's not registering a fault: it is not

2. Checked and cleared out the venting pipes/tubes to ensure no obstructions: they're all clear

3. Checked the water levels, gas pressure and general mechanical health of the boiler: all looks good

Overall it runs perfectly fine - but periodically it is not able to prove the flame and goes into a repeat cycle followed by a lockout, which leaves us in the cold.

I'm open to suggestions on next steps - is there something I can do to further troubleshoot, or should I be looking for a local technician to come investigate?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Tim McElwain
    Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,612
    edited December 2011
    The control you have is